Posted by: jaime1010 | December 11, 2007

Mother: The Original Template

You make me smile, not cry. You try not to keep things inside.

You help me to let go. You tell me things I need to know.

You scratch my back – help me see what I lack.

You make me tea at night. We hardly ever fight.

You’re always there for me. Especially financially!

You’re starting to tell me how you, too, have been hurt.

When I make a mess you help me sweep up my dirt.

You’ve always tried to make up for my Dad. And although it was killing you, you’d make sure I wasn’t sad.

You may as well have raised me alone (don’t protect him). You’ve taught me not to throw sticks and stones (don’t defend him).

Although it hurt, you set me out to be free; and now you’ve even learned from me…

You’ve shown me what a true woman should be.

And I hope everything that you are will one day be seen in me.

Responses

  1. This is so beautiful. It brought a tear to my eye. I missed my mum now.

  2. the parenthentical references are awesomely powerful by content and form.

    • I love it that you catch these things, you must be a poet?

      • I must be…hehehe. Kind of more a limericist–if that’s not a “sic” right there. I aspire to be urban fantasy novelist of great reknown..:) Come see my Fairy Tale Hives Series when you’re feelin’ silly…


Leave a Reply

Categories

